905-835-1186 211 Elgin St, Port Colborne, ON L3K 3K4


Staff Contacts:  Mr. McGregor & Mr. Vanderlee

The winter season of training has begun!  Training is either after school or before to fit the needs of the student athlete.  We will be doing a variety of activities that involve running and weight training along with developing technique on the ergometer machine.  New, and exciting this year, we have time booked in the new Welland International Flatwater Center Training Facility where the athlete can experience on-water training on the indoor tank.  Join us to be the first to experience this state-of-the -art facility, new members are always welcome.

February begins with the indoor ergometer competitions in Mississauga and finish off with the Ontario Ergometer Championships at Ridley College.  In no time at all we will be on the water.  Here we will test our skill against other schools in competition at the Mother's Day Regatta, High School Invitational Regatta and the Canadian Secondary Secondary School Rowing Association Regatta.   


Previous Years

Click here to see pictures from the 2011-2012 season
 Name  Grade

Port High honours 2015-16 athletes of the year

Oct 23, 2020
Team MVP & Coaches awards handed out also

athletes of the yr

So much for hibernation. There were Blue Bear sightings aplenty in the winners circle when Port Colborne High School celebrated the end to 2015-16 athletic season.

School and team awards were presented at an assembly, and student athletes also got together for a barbecue.


Athlete of the year, senior boys: Ryan Dendy

Athlete of the year, senior girls: Madison McAvoy

Athlete of the year, junior boys: Jake Richard

Athlete of the year, junior girls: Allyce Andrews

Sportsperson of the year, senior boys: Eric Hang

Sportsperson of the year, senior girls: Sencia Lampman

Sportsperson of the year, junior boys: Bruce Bryan

Sportsperson of the year, junior girls: Jennifer Kozelj

Blue Bear Award: Hollie Sonnenberg


Badminton: Bruce Bryan, Victoria Fraser, Coaches Award

Basketball, senior boys: Christopher Fairman, Ethan Scott, MVPs

Basketball, senior girls: Meghan Kapellas, Mae Lannon, Madison McAvoy, Coaches Award

Basketball, junior boys: Mitchell Sider, Mark Youngblut, Coaches Award

Basketball, junior girls: Jennifer Kozelj, Sydney Vrbanac, MVPs

Cross country: Flynn Thorton, most improved; Dean Miller, most dedicated

Hockey, boys: Joe Bucilli, MVP

Soccer, boys: Connor Buchanan, Dakota Marko, MVPs

Soccer, girls: Jennifer Kozelj, MVP; Meghan Kapellas, Coaches Award

Softball, girls: Alexandra Campbell, Madison McCulligh, MVPs

Tennis: Carl Booker, Laryn Youngblut, Coaches Award

Track and field: Ryan Dendy, MVP

Ultimate: Eric Hang, Zack Piazza, Coaches Award

Volleyball, senior boys: Jacob Minor, MVP; Ryan Dendy, Tye Miller, Coaches Award

Volleyball, senior girls: Lydia Rehman, MVP; Madison McAvoy, Coaches Award

Volleyball, junior boys: Brady Young, Coaches Award

Volleyball, junior girls: Allyce Andrews, MVP